Google Alerts – refining your search

When I’m particularly stumped with a person in my family tree, I set up a Google Alert for their name.  This will then notify me when new blog posts, articles, websites, etc include this person’s name (or similar) – so I can check if it’s relevant to my research.

If you set up the Google Alert incorrectly, you can be bombarded with completely irrelevant “findings”.  There are lots of Google tips that can make your search more relevant, and the web company I work for has put together a great infographic with a few of these “cheats”.  There are some tips that I had never seen before, and a few that I had – hopefully some of these will be useful to you.

To view the infographic, please go to http://www.xplore.net/web_smart/index.htm?articleId=549.

 

 

Leave a Reply

